How on Earth Does this Work?

Hey guys! Actually, I shouldn’t say “guys”, because I kind of doubt there are guys reading this. I kind of doubt anyone is reading this, actually, but I feel like there’s a much better chance that there are girls reading this.

So we’ll start over.

Hey ladies! My name is Clare Roth. I am one of the three girls writing for this blog, Thoughts from the Backseat. The other bloggers are my two best friends, Katy and Audrey.

The inspiration for this blog came late last night. I was texting Audrey, moaning and complaining about how incredibly boring my summer has been so far.

I feel like a lot of my friends are in the same boat as me. I mean, we’re fifteen years old. You can’t legally work until you’re sixteen. I’ve already applied to literally every business in town that accepts fifteen year old workers, and nowhere is hiring. If you can name it, I’ve applied. Nada. Zip. Zilch.

I mean, it’s not like I haven’t done anything this summer. I watched Project X fourteen times. I’ve been through about seven America’s Next Top Model all day marathons on Oxygen. I listened to the complete discography (all five albums) of The Strokes on YouTube yesterday.

I even baked whole grain yogurt cookies last week, and then proceeded to throw the whole entire batch away because of how disgusting they were. I literally gagged when I tasted the first one.

Basically, I’ve gotten nothing done this summer.

So, last night, in a stroke of pure ingeniousness, I came up with the idea of a joint blog. I mean, what could be better than the documentation of three bored high school girl’s lives? If you’re saying “Nothing!”, you’re right.

We’re going to talk about all kinds of things. Pop culture, social media, books, music, pet peeves, the war in the Middle East, Amanda Bynes, whatever. You name it, we’ll write about it.

That’s all I really have to say for now.

Over and out,

CLARE ROTH

Leave a Reply

