So la da di da di, we like to party

Miley Cyrus’s new video “We Can’t Stop” has gotten a lot of mixed reviews. Right now on YouTube it has more likes than dislikes. However, most of the comments I’ve seen have been something along the lines of, “What the fuck?”. As strange as it is, I have to say, I kind of like it. It has a very chilled out vibe despite the video being pretty insane.

However, there were two things that didn’t exactly work for me. One, the involvement of brands like Beats and EOS lip balm is sort of ridiculous to me. I mean, come on. Really? It just shouts desperate to me. Desperate for money. I guess she probably needs it though, after being on hiatus for quite a while. Second, the involvement of food kind of made me sick to my stomach. Especially when they were rolling around on the floor with hot dogs and buns. Ew.

BUT, this video was honestly everything I expected from her. She shaved her head and started using words like “dope” all the time so I’m not too surprised by this video as obviously some people are. She’s not Hannah Montana anymore. Or the girl from the last song (what’s her name?).

I remember her tweeting a while back saying something along the lines of, “my new music will shut everyone up”. Now, if that actually worked, I don’t know. It might have just brought out more haters that are still clinging to the brown extensions from the past. I say, just let it go. Go re-watch some old Miley Stewart goodness and move on.

I think this video previewed a good taste of what more to be expecting in the future, and I’m actually looking forward to see what more she has to offer.

20130620-223159.jpg

20130620-223209.jpg

20130620-223215.jpg

Stay classy my friends,
Audrey Lamb

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

